Do we use modport of an interface when connecting to UVM test?

Hi users,

I am new to UVM and learning a thing or two at a time.

I want to know if we use modport of an interface to connect a DUT and UVM test component.

I have tried the connections with modport and it throws errors saying illegal use of modport and sometimes unconnected interface. But when I use the interface without modport, I can use it inside UVM components.

My question fundamentally is, Do we use interface modport during connection of a DUT to UVM or any testbench module?

In reply to nikhil.n:

either is ok, but recommend using modport. two reasons:

1. good readability of code
  2. requirement for emulate-able env

In reply to nikhil.n:

A modport does not add aditional functionality to the SystemVerilog interface constructs. It adds only checking of the data direction. It is up to you to make your decision. In all my UVM projects (15+) I did not use modports.

In reply to chr_sue:

Thanks for your insight. I can not figure out how to use modport with a verilog DUT connected to UVM test(it throws compile error). However, I can connect interface to Verilog DUT with wrapper which does not use modport.

I guess interface without modport is not a bad choice. Thank you once again.

Cheers!

In reply to Barry.Yin:

Thank you for your insight.!

In reply to nikhil.n:
If you face a compile error, then it might be caused by a typo or not considering case sensitivity of SV.
A connect error would be indicated a run time 0.

In reply to chr_sue:

Yes I get connect error saying “unconnected interface port”.
Not the compile error, I guess.

Could you give an insight into why I would get the connect error when using modport to connect to Verilog DUT using wrapper?

In reply to nikhil.n:

If you are using modports you have to perform set/get to the config_db regarding the modport name in the interface.

In reply to chr_sue:

Thanks for all your input. It was helpful.

In reply to nikhil.n:

See my reply at