Generating sequences based on activity on other interfaces

Hi,

I am new to the UVM. Though I understand how simple sequences can be generated and run, I have a problem where I need to generate sequences based on some activity other interfaces which gets processed and based on this data I need to constrain my active sequences. I am not sure how to pass this information on which is a result of activity on one or more than two interfaces to generate sequences on one or more active agents.

I have two active agents, reactive agent and a passive agent. The transactions on the two active agents need to be constrained based on monitored and(or) processed data from the passive agent. Eg. Something like not generating ID’s which are not in use and freeing them as the packet is seen on the output (passive) agent.

Could anyone tell me what are the ways I can use this functionality ? What is the best method, which is scalable / reusable ? Any example would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Madhu

Hi Madhu and thanks for your question.

This topic comes up a lot, I am considering writing more advice about it.

My quick advice to you for this situation, where you have two or more interfaces to your DUT and you wish to co-ordinate some aspect of verification (e.g. sequence contents) between them, is to create a scoreboard that subscribes to analysis port of your passive agent, and maintains some level of ‘model’ of the behavior that is to be shared with the stimulus on the active agents. (similar to a register model that can be referred to/updated by both stimulus (sequences) and analysis (monitors/scoreboards).

For this I would add a ‘config object’ which is a non-component, populated by the scoreboard based on observations, and referred to by the sequences running on the active agents.