UVC vs VIP vs Agent

1. Can anyone tell me the difference between Universal Verification Component (UVC), Agent & Verification IP(VIP). How we can integrate VIP ?
  2. I studied about active & passive agents. What are master & slave agents ? If DUT is APB slave, then how many master/slave agents i need in which mode active or passive ?

In reply to shekher201778:

1. These terms are sometimes used interchangeably, but I’ll give you my opinion based on my experience
  • 2. VIP is the broadest term for a bundle of things used to verify a particular protocol or algorithm. It can include code written in different languages, as well as test plans, sets of tests, assertions, and scripts to execute all of that.
    3. UVC’s are VIP that is specifically designed to integrate into a UVM testbench.
    4. An Agent is the hierarchy of classes consisting of the driver, monitor, and set of sequences used to simulate a particular interface to your DUT.

• An agent is passive when the driver is turned off or does not exist and only monitors signals from the DUT. A master agent is active and initiates actions that the DUT must respond to. A slave agent is also active but only responds to actions from the DUT.

In reply to dave_59:

Thanks dave_59.
So if my DUT is APB slave, then i need only 1 active master agent consisting of sequencer, driver to drive stimulus into DUT, monitor to sample inputs driven into DUT & outputs coming out as response from DUT. Inputs are send to predictor/coverage collector & outputs are sent to scoreboard. Am i right ? Please correct me if i am wrong.

It depends on the environment your DUT is expected to operate in. Typically there is only 1 master, and even if there are multiple masters, there is an arbiter that would look like a single master to the slave anyways. But there could be multiple slaves. You might want to check that your slave does not interfere with the operation of other slaves.

In reply to dave_59: