Fatal: (vsim-8451) C:/modeltech_pe_10.4c/examples/testbench.sv(30): Virtual interface resolution cannot find a matching instance for 'virtual add_sub_if'

Hey,
I am new to UVM and model sim.
I try to compile a simple example im modelsim:

I put the uvm-1.2 folder which contains the uvm_pkg in the folder of my project.

I compiled with the following command:
vlog -work work -sv -stats=none C:/modeltech_pe_10.4c/examples/testbench.sv ./uvm-1.2/src/uvm_pkg.sv +incdir+./uvm-1.2/src

I run the simulation with:
vsim work.top

I got the following error:
//

Loading sv_std.std

Loading work.uvm_pkg

Loading work.testbench_sv_unit

** Note: (vsim-8785) UVM-aware debugging capabilities will be disabled since no compiled “questa_uvm_pkg” can be found.

This also means that later if you turn on UVM-aware debugging your debug simulations may have

different random seeds from your non-debug simulations.

Loading work.top

Loading work.ADD_SUB

Loading work.add_sub_if

** Fatal: (vsim-8451) C:/modeltech_pe_10.4c/examples/testbench.sv(30): Virtual interface resolution cannot find a matching instance for ‘virtual add_sub_if’.

Time: 0 ns Iteration: 0 Region: /testbench_sv_unit File: C:/modeltech_pe_10.4c/examples/testbench.sv

FATAL ERROR while loading design

Error loading design

End time: 12:03:21 on Jun 29,2016, Elapsed time: 0:00:00

Errors: 1, Warnings: 0

In reply to saritr:

SystemVerilog requires that any virtual interface that gets loaded must have a matching actual interface instantiated somewhere in the design.

So on testbench.sv:9 there is virtual interface of type add_sub_if declared. This error message is saying that vsim didn’t find an actual interface instantiation to match it.

If you go looking for where interface add_sub_if is instantiated, you’ll discover that it is not actually directly instantiated anywhere, instead it is bound to the dut with the bind statement on design.sv:44

So what went wrong?