Assertion Based Formal Verification

Hello,

I am very new to Verification and this might be a very trivial question
I have read that Assertion based Formal Verification does not require a test bench or test cases. But consider this example:

State S35 can be active for <= 5 cycles
assert property (@(posedge clk ) $rose(S35) |=> S35[1:4] ##1 !S35 );

Even in the above example, the design under test must be sensitized so that it can reach S35 and test cases have to be applied to the DUT that can either pass or fail the assertion.

My question is, where is the difference between this method and a simulation based method?Even in Simulation based method, the DUT will be sensitized in order to check whether S35 is active for more than 5 cycles?

I went through the material on formal verification at Verification Academy. In addition to this can anyone suggest a good source of reference?

First, on book I recommend this upcoming book, as I had a chance to review part of it
Formal Verification: An Essential Toolkit for Modern VLSI Design Aug 10, 2015
by Erik Seligman and Tom Schubert
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/formal-verification-erik-seligman/1120886706?ean=9780128007273

On your code example, you meant

assert property (@(posedge clk ) $rose(S35) |=> S35[*1:4] ##1 !S35 );

On your question, formal verification would work. Below is what I wrote in my SystemVerilog Assertions Handbook:

7.1.3 Who should use formal verification
Formal verification is best performed by the RTL design engineer with assertions, assumptions, and
restrictions (see 4.5.1) written by both the RTL designer and the verification engineer. The verification
engineer specifies the requirements, whereas the design engineer understands the design details and can
identify the needed corrections in the event of errors identified by the formal verification tool and the
counterexamples (i.e., scenario cases that can cause the failure).
7.1.4 More about model checking